Fire Blog Banner




ARDP and UTV News Release


The XSB Urban Search and Rescue Regional Task Force (RTF-12), composed of firefighters from the Santa Barbara County operational area, have just returned from deployment to the North Complex Fire in Northern California. RTF-12 was assigned to search the remnants of homes destroyed by the fire for human remains.

During this assignment, Task Force members utilized Alternative Respiratory Protection Devices (ARPDs). ARPDs filter out toxic particles, allowing firefighters to breath clean air while working in unhealthy environments. A Santa Barbara County firefighter donning an ARPD is pictured. The ARPDs were provided through a partnership between the Santa Barbara County Firefighters Union Local 2046, the Santa Barbara County Fire Department and funded by the Santa Barbara Firefighters Alliance. This type of respiratory protection is the first of its kind to be provided to all Santa Barbara County firefighters. The ARPDs are being utilized on wildland fires, Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) deployments, as well as COVID-19 related emergencies.



A Utility Terrain Vehicle (UTV), provided by Goleta-based Direct Relief International and the Santa Barbara County Firefighters Alliance, was also utilized on the North Complex deployment. The UTV was initially donated for use during the Montecito debris flow, but now assists with USAR operations, including the most recent deployment in Northern California.

The Santa Barbara County Fire Department is proud to outfit all safety members with an ARPD and to have a UTV as standard inventory for USAR deployments. We are extremely thankful to our generous partners who continue to support our local and statewide firefighting efforts.



Contact Information:
Captain Daniel Bertucelli
Information Officer
Office 805-681-5531
Cell 805-896-6336
News Line 805-681-5546
Email [email protected]
Twitter @SBCFireInfo



All Santa Barbara County Fire Department News Releases are available at

Serving the cities of Buellton, Goleta, and Solvang, and the Communities of Casmalia, Cuyama, Gaviota, Hope Ranch,
Los Alamos, Los Olivos, Mission Canyon, Mission Hills, Orcutt, Santa Maria, Sisquoc, and Vandenberg Village