The Santa Barbara County Fire Protection District encompasses approximately 2,480 square miles, providing services to an estimated population of 172,000. This includes the unincorporated areas of the County as well as the cities of Buellton, Solvang, and Goleta. The unincorporated areas include the communities of Casmalia, Cuyama, Gaviota, Hope Ranch, Los Alamos, Los Olivos, Mission Canyon, Mission Hills, Orcutt, Santa Ynez, Sisquoc and Vandenberg Village as well as private lands in the forest.

Emergency Operations consists of 3 battalions (Battalion 1-South, Battalion 2-North and Battalion 3-Central) with a total of 16 fire stations that respond to all types of emergencies, including: fire, medical, rescue, and hazardous materials incidents. For a list of fire station locations in each battalion, click here. Each fire station is staffed around the clock with a minimum of 3 firefighters and a Type I (structure) engine.  Specialized equipment such as Type III (wildland) fire engines, water tenders, paramedic rescue ambulances, technical rescue and water rescue equipment are strategically placed throughout the County and are cross-staffed with existing engine personnel. In addition to fire station response capabilities, the Department staffs and responds with helicopters, bulldozers and hand crews to fire, pre-fire, flood, and other disasters.

The Fire Department maximizes the services provided to the community by cross-training firefighters and operating specialized programs out of crucial locations. Specialized programs include: paramedic services, ambulance transport services, water rescue services, urban search and rescue services, a search dog program, an arson dog program, and child car seat safety checks and installations.